Cooking/Eating on campus!!!

So let’s step away from the technical stuff. I’m gonna talk a bit about what I eat/cook on campus since Farinon (our main dining hall) is just too expensive for me. Well it’s not TOO expensive, the food is just not worth the price. Anyway, I lost faith in it so as a home-grown (home-trained??) cook I’m sharing some of my fast “Asian” dishes. BTW if you’re hungry don’t read this cause you’ll be likely to kill yourself.

1. Breakfast: THERE’S NO BREAKFAST CAUSE SLEEP IS WAY MORE IMPORTANT!! Besides I’m not hungry right when I wake up so it’ll take me at least 2 – 3 hrs to gain some kinda appetite. But if you do want Asian breakfast, INSTANT RAMEN will do the job. Back in Vietnam I eat beef noodle soup which is the slow-cooked version of instant ramen. The general idea is to warm your body up while providing you with protein and nutritions. Here’s what it looks like:

Beef Noodle Soup

Beef Noodle Soup

2. Lunch/Brunch/Linner/Brunner/Dunch or whatever: One of the bigger meals of the day. During the summer we got an hour lunch break due to you-know-who-I-am-talking-about only allows so. My friend Khine and I eat Healthy Choice but the portion is just super tiny. Occasionally we cooked the night before and eat left over.

Here’s the hmmm… “recipe” for some of our dishes:

Japanese Chicken Curry: You have

Chicken

and

Spices

Spices

and

Oil

Oil

By spices I mean garlic powder, pepper, those kind of “safe” ingredients”. Then you mix them together, let them sit there for around 5 mins. Stir fry them, put in enough water for the paste, then dump in vegetables (carrots, potatoes, green peppers…) and put it the secret curry past that you can get from Wegman:

Golden Curry

Golden Curry

Yeah then let it sit there for like 30 -45 mins and it should be ready. Pretty fast, right??

Another one is kinda ghetto:

Rice

Rice

and

Fish Sauce

Fish Sauce

That’s classic right there. Just enough to do the job. Anyway I’ll talk about more stuff next time cause I gotta prepare to go to NSBE Conference in Canada tomorrow, hopefully that’ll land me a job. Have fun and keep on cooking!!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Cooking/Eating on campus!!!

  1. Amande says:

    wow…

Leave a Reply

